Lights On, Bitch!

Posted: March 3, 2010 in manliness

James Toney is now officially making the jump from Boxing to MMA. Toney signed a multi-fight deal with the UFC today. This ongoing hoopla between Toney and, UFC President, Dana White has been in motion for quite some time now. I remember James “Lights Out” Toney calling out Randy Couture in 2006. He’s been pressing on Dana White to give him more money than he’s worth based on his Boxing background. For instance this video well he (I believe, at least. I could use some subtitles) calls out Brock Lesnar, “Bimbo” Slice, Chuck Liddell, Randy Couture, and Tito Ortiz.

I think Dana said it well today…

You don’t balance your weight the same way you balance your weight in boxing. You’ll get that front leg kicked off into the eighth row somewhere if you distribute your weight the same way they do in boxing. There’s an education process there for these guys that I learned the fucking hard way. I went in and got choked out and kicked in the leg and all the stuff that happened to me when I started. But I gotta tell you this. I’ve always wanted to see a guy– a guy I actually respect. He’s tough as nails. He’s mean. He’s nasty. He better get in shape if he wants to come in here and do this stuff.

Hope he is in better shape than this when he fights…

James Toney is a World Champion Boxer, and is in all respects of the boxing world, a bad mother. However, when he throws an overhand right that gets ducked, he just covers up and/or eats the counter punch. In MMA when that overhand right misses you got to worry about the other guy coming in taking your legs out from under you and slamming you on your head. Big heavyweight wrestlers like Cain Velasquez, Brock Lesnar, etc. would eat Toney alive. I would love to see Cain demolish Toney and his giant mouth, but it would only put him further from the title shot he deserves. I’m not sure who is first fight will be against, but I hope its someone who can withstand his striking and dominate him on the ground. Fuck it let him train and throw the loser of the Mir/Carwin match at his ass. He claims he only wants to fight names, lets throw some BIG dudes at his him. Hope he packed a lunch cause this is going to be one long contract to fulfill.

Comments
  1. Brock says:

    Hope he gets mauled

    • serdafied says:

      Yeah I hope he never evenm gets punched while on his feet. I hope he just gets worked on the ground the whole time. so when it’s all said and done Joe Rogan can ask, “So how do you feel your extensive boxing background translate into MMA in your first fight?”

Leave a Reply

